Member Login

What are Society Party Councils?

The Society’s Rules (Rule 161) state that:

The Board shall agree with the National Executive Committee of the Co-operative Party and individual Party members in the areas concerned such arrangements for a Society Party Council or Councils or other such structures as are deemed appropriate to organise local party activity in the areas where the Society trades.

Co-op Society Party Councils are made up of representatives of local Co-op Party branches, Central England Co-operative members and other appointed members from the Society.  The Party Councils help deal with the administration and development of the Co-operative Party in local areas.

Central England Co-operative supports four local Co-op Party Councils:

  1. Anglia Region Society Party Council – covering Peterborough, The Fens and parts of Norfolk and Cambridgeshire  
  2. Eastern & Southern Region Society Party Council – covering Leicestershire and Northamptonshire
  3. Northern Region Society Party Council – covering Derbyshire and parts of Nottinghamshire
  4. Western Region Society Party Council – covering Birmingham, the West Midlands and Staffordshire

2018 Vacancies

There are six Member vacancies on each party Council and 12 for the combined Eastern & Southern Party Council.  Terms of office are three years for all vacancies.

Elections, where required, will be held at the relevant regional Central England Annual Members’ Meeting in April 2018.


If you are interested in standing for election to your local Society Party Council or wish to know more about  the role, please contact the Secretarial Office on telephone 01543 414140 or email

Members’ have from Friday 2 February 2018 to 17:00 on 23 February 2018 to submit their nomination.